Loading Events

« All Events

Webinar: Integration of Renewable Energies in the Industry Sector. Challenges & Opportunities

March 3 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Time:
02:00 PM
  
To:
03:00 PM
Date:
Mar 03, 2021

Wednesday, March 3, 2021, 11.00 CET / 14.00 GST

Energy transition has gained traction around the world. Regarding the regional current situation, efforts are under way across the MENA region to advance the clean energy agenda and reduce the carbon footprint of the main sectors of the economy, including the energy sector. Renewables are one of the solutions that the region can take benefit of, because the region is blessed with huge solar and wind resources. Indeed, these technologies have been deployed in a number of countries, including the UAE, Morocco, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman,…etc.

It is to be noted that Solar PV and wind energy are key drivers behind the fast-growing share of renewables in the generation of electricity. But renewables’ share in the heating/cooling and industry sectors lags far behind its potential. An acceleration of renewables in all sectors will be needed to achieve the Paris Agreement objectives.

We also see huge potential for developing a green hydrogen economy, which, if combined with renewables, will provide solutions that can be applied to a number of sectors, including transportation, industry and buildings, which accounts for a large percentage of harmful emissions. Experts around the world believe that we will need better management of our energy systems if we are to ensure a smooth transition that is inclusive and sustainable.

There is also a consensus that the pace of the energy transition will not be uniform across all the countries, and that will call for strengthening international and regional cooperation to mainstream the low-carbon transition regionally and globally.

In this context, the EU-GCC Clean Energy Technology Network and the Regional Center for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (RCREEE) are organising two virtual workshops on the integration of renewable energy in the industry and buildings sectors. The aim of the webinars is to exchange relevant best practices, information and lessons learned and advance regional initiatives on the integration of renewables energies in the main sectors of the region’s economies in the context of an inclusive and sustainable energy transitions. In addition, it will discuss the challenges facing the region and what can be done to transform these challenges into different business and economic opportunities including the creation of SMEs. The second webinar dedicated to the industry sector, supported by MESIA, will be held virtually on Wednesday 3 March 2021 at 11.00 CET / 12.00 Cairo Time // 14.00 GST.

 

Register here.

Details

Date:
March 3
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Event Category: